Hartford Steam Boiler
A Munich Re company

Explore the Munich Re Group

Get to know our Group companies, branches and subsidiaries worldwide.

Susan W. Ahrens

Curriculum vitae

    alt txt



    Susan W. Ahrens
    Susan W. Ahrens
    Senior Vice President, Human Resources and Communications

    Susan Ahrens is Senior Vice President, responsible for Human Resources, Marketing Communications and Corporate Giving.

    Ms. Ahrens joined HSB in 1993 as Senior Manager of Human Resources, responsible for employee relations. In 1994, she was promoted to Assistant Vice President. In May 1999, she was named Vice President and in April 2005 became Senior Vice President.

    Her broad experience includes strategic integrations and organizational realignments to help position the company for profitable growth. She oversees the implementation of HR practices that optimize the company's ability to drive employee engagement and business success. As part of the Munich Re Group, Ms. Ahrens collaborates with global partners to implement group-wide initiatives.

    Prior to joining HSB, she held various Human Resource positions at May Department Stores Company for over eight years.

    She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Brown University. She has also held a Senior Professional Human Resources (SPHR) certification.

    In 2007, Ms. Ahrens joined the Board of Directors of the Hartford Youth Scholars Foundation and served as Chair of the Board from 2010 to 2014. She continues to serve as a member of the Board.

    Ms. Ahrens held numerous leadership positions from 1999 until 2007 with the Connecticut Valley Girl Scout Council. Her last position was Board President. She was also a member of the Council Realignment Committee, which worked for 18 months to consolidate five Connecticut-based councils into the Girl Scouts of Connecticut. She also served as Chair of the Search Committee for an executive director.

    In March 2007, Ms. Ahrens was appointed by Connecticut Governor Rell to serve on the Commission on Compensation for Elected State Officers and Judges. She continues to serve on this Commission.