Hartford Steam Boiler
A Munich Re company

Explore the Munich Re Group

Get to know our Group companies, branches and subsidiaries worldwide.

See a safer future.
Through the HSB lens.

At RIMS RISKWORLD meeting suite 6E, San Diego Convention Center upper level.

    alt txt

    properties.trackTitle

    properties.trackSubtitle

    Enabled by insurance, engineering, and technology

    Viewing the world through the HSB lens gives you a glimpse of how our approach to insurance, engineering, and technology can work to help you mitigate and manage risk. And there’s no better place to meet us and realize that vision than RIMS RISKWORLD 2024 in San Diego. Meet with HSB leaders to learn more about the critical trends we are following that are changing risk scenarios and how working together we can provide customers with the solutions they will need in the future.

    HSB brings into sharp focus the topics and trends that impact the specialty insurance solutions we bring to market. We see things that others may not. When clients partner with HSB, they strengthen their offerings and bring value to their customers. Put simply, clients benefit from our focus.

    A powerhouse of renewable energy protection

    HSB is a best-in-class energy insurer with a strong focus on renewables. Our competitive advantage is broad in this category thanks to the insurance, engineering, sizeable capacity, underwriting discipline, and stability we bring to the marketplace. In fact, HSB insures nearly 100 gigawatts of renewable energy generation capacity in the U.S. and Canada. Let’s talk about what’s next. Learn more.

    The EB leader in North America

    HSB has become the leading equipment breakdown insurer in North America by developing deep engineering expertise and capabilities to underwrite virtually any risk from large real estate schedules to heavy industry. And we’re not standing still, either. HSB has introduced many new coverages over the past 25 years to respond to advances in technology and a changing world. HSB scans the horizon for the trends creating new exposures, and we’re using gained insights to develop innovative solutions that can address emerging needs.
    Download HSB TechAdvantage™ brochure

    A tech-forward approach to risk

    HSB delivers innovative technology solutions to help customers mitigate property and equipment breakdown risks. As technology is rapidly changing, so is our effort to predict, prevent, and insure emerging risks. We have built an ecosystem of technology partners with companies like HELIXintel and our own Sensor Solutions by HSB™, all designed to solve real problems, right now.

    We also look to solve problems of the future, preparing for how artificial intelligence will impact the insurance industry. HSB co-wrote a white paper with Munich Re to evaluate impacts to coverage. Download the white paper.

    Munich Re Green Tech Solutions

    The energy transition is one of the biggest global challenges of our time, yet it offers huge business opportunities. To grow in the climate and clean energy sector - whether a manufacturer, project developer, or investor - the reliability of the green technology used is critical. Innovative green technologies usually come with uncertainties and an inherent risk of performance volatility. 

    Munich Re’s Green Tech Solutions guarantee the long-term performance of green technologies and are a seal of approval for outstanding technical quality because of our technical due diligence. Be it wind, photovoltaic, green hydrogen, or sustainable technologies like carbon capture, geothermal, e-mobility, or energy storage, we help make sure your green investment will be profitable for decades to come. Learn more.

    Prentiss Darden
    Prentiss Darden
    Business Development North America
    We also cover investments in clean energy tax credits driven by the U.S. Inflation Reduction Act. Munich Re can help put investors in this fast-expanding market at ease against the risk of losing tax credits challenged by U.S. tax authorities. Let’s discuss how we can shoulder your risk so that you can focus on growing your sustainable business.
    Nath Vikram
    Vikram Nath
    Managing Director

    Schedule a meeting

    Let’s get the conversation started. Schedule an appointment and meet with us at the HSB meeting suite: 6E (San Diego Convention Center, upper level).

    HSB U.S.

    Name Title Email
    Peter Richter SVP, Chief Custom Accounts Officer peter_richter@hsb.com
    Michael Hesse Chief Operating Officer & Head of Global Engineering michael_hesse@hsb.com
    John Riggs CTO & SVP Applied Technology jbr@hsb.com
    Kelly Stearns Head of Transactional Insurance kelly_stearns@hsb.com
    Amin Touahri Head of Specialty Reinsurance Portfolio amin_touahri@hsb.com
    Dave Schraeder Chief Business Development Officer david_schraeder@hsb.com
    Adam Care Client Innovation & Solution Integration Lead adam_care@hsb.com
    Scott Smidlein Head of Energy Practice scott_smidlein@hsb.com
    Rena Delvecchio Head of Equipment Breakdown Practice rena_delvecchio@hsb.com
    Kevin O’Malley Broker Relationship Leader kevin_omalley@hsb.com
    Matt Zimmerman VP, Business Development matt_zimmerman@hsb.com
    James Cunningham VP, Client Company Partners james_cunningham@hsb.com
    Jennifer McDonald AVP, Engineering jennifer_mcdonald@hsb.com
    Matt Griffith Principal Risk Specialist matthew_griffith@hsb.com

    HSB Canada

    Name Title Email
    Mark Moore CFO, SVP, HSB Canada mmoore@hsb.ca
    Jeff Walker SVP, Chief Distribution Officer, HSB Canada jwalker@hsb.ca
    Leona Au AVP TRusT, HSB Canada lau@hsb.ca
    Rachel Ward Account Executive, HSB Canada rward@hsb.ca

    Munich Re

    Name Title Email
    Roman Beilhack HSB SVP, Head of New Technologies Insurance and Energy Transition and Munich Re, Head of New and Green Tech rbeilhack@munichre.com
    Patrick Hinze Head of Emerging Green Tech phinze@munichre.com
    Mathilda Götz Senior Consultant Business Development New and Green Tech matgoetz@munichre.com
    Prentiss Darden Business Development Lead, Munich Re Green Tech Solutions pdarden@munichre.com
    Vikram Nath Managing Director, Munich Re Energy Transition Finance vnath@munichre.com
    Michael Berger Global head of Insure AI mberger@munichre.com