Munich Re Cup

    alt txt



    Originating in 2015, the Munich Re Cup began as a Canada-wide actuarial business case competition and is now the premier North American actuarial case competition open to students in Canada and the United States.

    Participants receive an opportunity to develop and apply their analytical, presentation, and problem-solving skills to a real-world business problem. The competition affords unique networking opportunities that will provide them with exposure to Munich Re leadership and industry professionals.

    Why wait to get real-world experience? Gain insights into the world of reinsurance and explore career options.

    If you are an Actuarial Science student in the U.S. or Canada looking to apply your analytical skills, learn more about reinsurance, and engage with Munich Re leadership.

    Congratulations to our Munich Re Cup competition winners!


    First place team, University of Manitoba

    • Alissane Ruest, Vianca Gamboa, Ryan Wiebe and Conrad Pragnell

    Second place team, University of Wisconsin Madison 

    • Josh Lange, Parth Amrute, Kevin Konop and David Lattos

    2022: University of Manitoba
    Benjamin Haverstick, Coveena Kosambi, Priyanka Sharma, Jagnoor Bhandohal

    • Second place: Western University
      Nina Cheng, Yaqin (Emily) Li, Fengrui (Sam) Tian, Yangsijia (Scarlett) Wang

    2021: University of Manitoba
    Celia Dang, Hui Lin Cheong, Kevin Wong, Yash Katyara

    • Second place: University of Toronto
      Daisy Ding, JiaQi Zhao, Prinsa Gandhi, Rachel Yang

    2020: Concordia University
    Jacob Blair, Catherine Dagenais-Roberge, Ioannis Volakakis, Daniel Sylvestre

    • Second place: University of Manitoba
      Alexandre Morakis, Emilia Markovic, Mathis Penner, Shannon Fitzhenry

    2019: University of Waterloo
    Adaijah Wilson, Jasmine Sirohi, Jillian Zhu Ge, Ryan Goldford

    • Second place: University of Manitoba
      Bailey Villarba, Maria Santiano, Shaharyar Noordin, Victoria Leong

    2018: Concordia University
    William Duguay, Karl Hansen, Vanessa Mailhot-Franco, Mohamed-Amine Mekideche

    2017: University of Manitoba
    Melissa Hrichishen, Riley Dirks, Alexander Loscerbo, Frederick Sackey

    2016: Concordia University
    Ryan D'Orazio, David Tagliamonti, Roxanne Côté and Jasmine Lemay-Dagenais

    2015: University of Manitoba
    Bradley Abells, Jordan Gerry, Taylor Mitchell, and Kelly Ramsay